Sidney Crosby: Will the NHL Finally Discipline Their Baby Boy?

November 29th, 2010 by Nick Perri Leave a reply »
In the first period of the most recent New York Rangers-Pittsburgh Penguins showdown at Madison Square Garden, the NHL's top superstar, Sidney Crosby, lucked out of a penalty call on one of hockey's dirtiest plays: the slewfoot.

The Slewfoot: In hockey, when using your leg to take someone off balance from behind by sweeping the back of their knee, often resulting in injury.

In this play, the slewfoot was evident, and the MSG Network did a fine job sharing the dirty play with the world.


The Play

Crosby and Rangers forward Ryan Callahan skated side-by-side passed center ice, bumping each other multiple times. At first it seemed like a pretty clean play. But in the end, Callahan would be called for an interference penalty, and after reviewing an action replay, it was apparent that the referees had made a terrible mistake. Callahan was called for the penalty, while Crosby would skate away free of charge after a clear slewfoot, and a clear cheap shot.

At the end of the play, Crosby slid his skate between the skates of Callahan, taking him down to the ice and pinning him there for a b ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.