NHL 2010 Stanley Cup Playoffs: Top Five Candidates for MVP Thus Far

May 5th, 2010 by Mark Ritter Leave a reply »
Admittedly, writing an article on the NHL Playoff MVP is a tad premature. That said, given all the quality showings thus far leads me to believe that for the first time in a long while there will be plenty of competition for the coveted Conn Smythe Award. First awarded in the 1964-65 season, we have seen a fair share of hockey legends take home the Conn Smythe Trophy. Legendary Montreal Canadiens forward Jean Beliveau took home the coveted prize in 1964-65-later joined by 21 Forwards over the years including, but not limited to: Guy Lafleur, Bryan Trottier, Mike Bossy, Mark Messier, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Steve Yzerman and, most recently, Evgeni Malkin in 2008-09. A total of nine defensemen have had their name engraved on the Conn Smythe Trophy, including, but not limited to: Serge Savard, Bobby Orr, Brian Leetch, Scott Stevens and, most recently, Scott Niedermayer. Comparatively, a total of 11 goaltenders have won the Conn Smythe, including, but not limited to, Roger Crozier, Ken Dryden, Bernie Parent, Billy Smith, Patrick Roy, Ron Hextall and, most recently, Cam Ward in 2005-06. Once upon a time, it was very tough for a goaltender to win the Conn Smythe. However, mos ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.