2010 NHL Awards: Who Has the Hart?

June 22nd, 2010 by Cam Maillet Leave a reply »
The Hart Trophy goes to “the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team," where the winner is selected by a poll from the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

While the winner will be announced at the 2010 NHL Awards on June 23 in buzzing Las Vegas. As before many big choices, we’ll speculate the potential outcome.

Of the three finalists, two are usual suspects in Sidney Crosby and Alex Ovechkin, but this year there is a new dark horse.

Fresh off a contract extension, Henrik Sedin avoided that post-signing slouch and put up big numbers this year for the Vancouver Canucks. He finished the 2009-2010 campaign with 29 goals and 83 assists for 112 points on the season.

Here is a breakdown of why each player could receive this most honorable award.


Sidney Crosby

While being in the running for the Hart year after year, Crosby, once known for his playmaking ability, has balanced his game and turned into much more of a goal scorer. He had to be because he didn’t have the same supporting cast that both of the other candidates for the award did (Nicklas Backstrom a ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.