Zach LaVine Wins 2016 NBA Slam Dunk Contest: Where Win Ranks All Time

February 14th, 2016 by Ryan McCrystal Leave a reply »

The NBA Slam Dunk Contest has a new gold standard. 

Zach LaVine of the Minnesota Timberwolves outdueled the Orlando Magic's Aaron Gordon in arguably the most legendary contest in the history of the event. 

The 1988 Slam Dunk Contest, which was highlighted by Michael Jordan and Dominique Wilkins, was previously considered the greatest battle in contest history. In 2013, Sports Illustrated's Ben Golliver ranked Jordan versus Wilkins at No. 1 in an in-depth breakdown of the contest.  

But during the TV broadcast on TNT, analyst and former dunk contest participant Kenny Smith made the bold statement of calling the 2016 competition the greatest of all time because of the three-round dunk-off that resulted in the victory for LaVine. 

Gordon and LaVine reached the finals after knocking off Andre Drummond of the Detroit Pistons and Will Barton of the Denver Nuggets. The two stars of the All-Star Saturday Night matched 50-point dunks in the finals before heading into an impromptu dunk-off to decide the winner. 

After Gordon and Lavine matched perfect 50s on their first two dunk- ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.