Philadelphia/Golden State Warriors: NBA All-Time Starting Fives

September 15th, 2010 by Emile Avanessian Leave a reply »
To explore the history of the Warriors franchise is to explore the history of professional basketball. From their inception in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors in the Basketball Association of America (which became the NBA in 1949) to the disjointed Nelleyball era of today, there has not been a professional basketball season in this country for which the Warriors have not been present.

Over the past six decades, 10 Hall of Famers—Wilt Chamberlain, Paul Arizin, Rick Barry, Nate Thurmond, Neil Johnston, Joe Fulks, Robert Parish, Tom Gola, Jerry Lucas, and Andy Phillip—have suited up in at least 100 games for the Warriors. An 11th, Chris Mullin, is a safe bet to join this group in the near future.

The Philadelphia Warriors won the first-ever professional basketball championship following the 1946-47 season, and the franchise went on to win two more titles (1955-56 and 1974-75), reach the Finals on five other occasions. and author one of the greatest-ever postseason upsets.

It was with the Warriors that Wilt Chamberlain hit his statistical peak (that’s saying something!).

It was with the Warriors that Rick Barry was ess ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.