5 Best NBA Coaches to Never Win a Championship

April 3rd, 2012 by Chris Johstoneaux Leave a reply »
Over the years there have been many coaches who have led an NBA team through a season. Some have coached multiple teams, some have only coached one. Some coaches have had great success, and some have not done very well.

Regardless of how long or how well each one did roaming the sidelines and yelling at the referees, there is one coaching accomplishment that seems to determine the overall success of many coaches.

That statistic is the number of NBA championships each has won.

We all know that before he retired at the end of last season, Phil Jackson won 11. Red Auerbach picked up nine of his own, with eight of those coming in a row.

John Kundla and Pat Riley each won five, with all but one of those coming with the Los Angeles Lakers.

San Antonio Spurs' head man Gregg Popovich hoisted the championship trophy four times, and seven others celebrated titles on two occasions.

Even coaches like Al Attles, Doc Rivers, Bill Fitch, Dick Motta, Jack Ramsey and Paul Westhead have won it all at least once.

Last season, it seemed that Miami Heat coach Erik Spoelstra would win his first, bu ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.