Who Is the NHL’s Best Goalie of 2009-10?

March 29th, 2010 by Scott Weldon Leave a reply »

The Vezina trophy is given out annually to the national hockey league goalie who is judged to be “best” at his position.


When introduced it in 1927 it was designed to commemorate George Vezina, the great Canadien’s goalie who died of tuberculosis the year before. The trophy was handed to the goalie or goalies who gave up the fewest goals in a season.


Back then there was only one goalie per team so the goalie on the team with the lowest GAA was seen to be the best in the league.  


Come the 1980-81 season, Dennis Heron, Michel “Bunny” Laroque and Richard Sevigny became the first triumvirate to win the Vezina. However, their names don't resonate down the halls of NHL goaltender greatness. 


Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.