Updated Conn Smythe Rankings After Round 2 of the 2015 Stanley Cup Playoffs

May 14th, 2015 by Adrian Dater Leave a reply »
In our first installment, we learned exactly who Conn Smythe was and why one of the NHL's most significant trophies was named for him. (Quite a few readers, by the way, noted his distinct resemblance to the Monopoly guy).

The Conn Smythe Trophy is crowned with a maple leaf adorning a replica of the old Maple Leaf Gardens, which in case you hadn't guessed by now was to commemorate Smythe's long involvement with the Toronto Maple Leafs. Only one Maple Leaf (Dave Keon in 1967) has ever won a Conn Smythe by the way.

Moving right along, this is your updated list of Conn Smythe Trophy favorites as the NHL playoffs move on to the conference finals.

The list includes only players still playing, which makes sense because nobody from a team that failed to make the Stanley Cup Final has ever won it. Five players—Roger Crozier, Glenn Hall, Reggie Leach, Ron Hextall and J.S. Giguere—from losing finals teams have won it.

As far as criteria for the rankings, they are a mix of my uncanny judgment, followed by more than just points and ice time, but valuable points in the toughest moments on the ice. 

Here we go.

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.