Timeline of How Chicago Blackhawks Built a Budding NHL Dynasty

June 25th, 2013 by Nicholas Goss Leave a reply »

Dynasties are extremely rare in today's NHL.

Following the Edmonton Oilers' historic run of five championships from 1984 through 1990, the closest thing we have seen to an NHL dynasty is the Detroit Red Wings' four titles from 1997 through 2008.

The creation of the salary cap after the 2004-05 lockout has played the biggest role in crushing the chances of the league ever seeing a real dynasty again by preventing teams from keeping all of their players unless they accept outrageous discounts.

With salaries steadily increasing, general managers are unable to pay everyone a fair salary and keep championship teams intact, especially over a five to six-year period. As a result, there have been seven different champions in the eight years of the cap era.

One franchise that's starting to prove it is possible to build a dynasty, despite the limitations of the salary cap, is the Chicago Blackhawks, who captured their second Stanley Cup title in four years on Monday by defeating the Boston Bruins in six games.

Chicago's core group of players, highlighted by captain Jonathan Toews, 2013 Conn Smythe Trophy winner Pa ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.