The Conn Artist: Has Jonathan Toews Already Won the Conn Smythe Trophy?

May 24th, 2010 by Albi Baraku Leave a reply »
The NHL playoffs are a time that really shows the true colors and characters of NHL forwards, defensemen, and goaltenders.

There are two types of "MVP" awards in the NHL.

One is in the regular season, and it is called the Hart Memorial Trophy, which is annually awarded to the best player of the season.

Then there is one for the NHL playoffs, and it is called the Conn Smythe Trophy. This award goes to the player (or goalie) who proves to be the most valuable player throughout the postseason.

Some fans may think that the Conn Smythe Trophy is the more important trophy and the one that truly shows who the best players are.

Obviously this is because the NHL postseason is a very different time and the stakes are higher, and to be the best player out of an 18-man roster from 16 teams, which will roughly end up being about 300 players, is a pretty great accomplishment, especially when you are heavily favoured to win it all. Talk about pressure.

Or how about being the best player out of 300 while being just 22 years of age and in your third NHL season and being the captain of arguably the best team in the NHL?

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.