Predicting the Top Candidates for the 2015-16 Vezina Trophy

August 11th, 2015 by Carol Schram Leave a reply »
The voting pool is a small one for the Vezina Trophy, given to the NHL's best goaltender each year.

The award is voted by the league's 30 general managers, who each rank their top three candidates.

In 2014-15, Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens came impressively close to a unanimous decision as he captured his first Vezina. He received 27 first-place votes and three second-place votes for a total of 144 points, according to, more than twice as many as the 60 points collected by second-place finisher Pekka Rinne of the Nashville Predators. 

Price's star has been on the rise for the past few seasons, so it's surprising he became a Vezina finalist for the first time in his career just last year. But after sharing the William Jennings Trophy as one of two primary goaltenders on the teams with the lowest goals against, as well as picking up the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award as the league's MVP at any position, Price has spent the summer of 2015 head and shoulders above the rest of the goaltending herd.

Right now, it's hard to imagine any other goaltender stealing the Vezina away from Price next season, but the ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.