NHL Awards: Who Stole the Show in 1990?

June 20th, 2010 by Chris Bouthillier Leave a reply »
After the grind of a tough regular season and an unbelievable Stanley Cup playoff, the 2010 campaign officially comes to a close with the NHL Awards coming on Thursday night in Las Vegas. Even though the big trophy has already been awarded there is still plenty of hardware to hand out to some of the league's top talent. While most hockey players would say that the only trophy they care about is the Stanley Cup, nobody can deny that they wouldn't mind receiving honors for their performances over the course of a season. Individual awards have highlighted some of the best single-season performances we have ever seen. The best thing about the awards is that they have the potential to foreshadow a player's career. They can kick start great careers as well as capture a future legend in his prime. Flashback to 1990 when the Edmonton Oilers captured Lord Stanley for the first time without perennial all-star Wayne Gretzky. There were many award winners 20 years ago that this year's nominees would love to share honors with. With players such as Mario Lemieux, Steve Yzerman and Joe Sakic gone, we are now entering a new era of stars headlined by Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin and Steve Stamk ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.