NHL 2010-11 Season Annual Awards Prediction

March 27th, 2011 by Michael DeSantis Leave a reply »
Another exciting year of NHL hockey is nearing a close with each team having about seven or so games remaining, which means that officials are starting to prepare their votes for the NHL award ceremony. 

Some of the awards given are the Vezina Trophy, given to the best goaltender, the Calder Trophy given to the rookie of the year, the Art Ross trophy given to the player who notches the most points and the Maurice "Rocket" Richard trophy given to the player with the most goals in the league. 

Here are some predictions on the finalists and who will win the awards.

The Vezina is given to the top goaltender in the league. This year, the Vezina finalists will most likely be Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers and Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens. 

I believe Thomas is the frontrunner and Lundqvist is close behind.  Lundqvist leads the league in shutouts with 11, but Thomas has eight shutouts and leads the league by a lot in Save Percentage with a dazzling .939 and a 2.00 Goals Against Average.  My prediction for the Vezina is Tim Thomas.

The Calder Trophy race i ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.