Just Jed: Ortmeyer’s Case to Bring Home the Masterton Trophy

June 19th, 2010 by Patrick Goulding II Leave a reply »
San Jose Sharks' forward Jed Ortmeyer stands alone among his teammates this year as the only member of Team Teal to garner a nomination for a 2010 NHL Award.

Ortmeyer joins Washington Capitals' goaltender Jose Theodore and Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Kurtis Foster as a nominee for the 2010 Masterton Trophy.

The Masterton Trophy is by letter given to the NHL player who best exhibits the principles of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication over the course of the year, but generally defaults to being a de facto comeback player of the year award.

Picking a Masterton winner is a bit like picking which orphaned puppy to adopt from a shelter. Pity is inevitable, all are more than deserving, and no matter who you select, the rest will feel left out. To further complicate matters, you may need to go back to Saku Koivu's return from cancer or Mario Lemieux's return from Hodgkin's Disease to find stories like those among 2010's candidates.

Kurtis Foster's story is perhaps most in keeping with the typical flavor of the award. He returned after suffering a horrible broken leg injury that could have jeopardized his career to put up 34 assists and 4 ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.