2011-12 Chicago Blackhawks: Corey Crawford, the Next Vezina Trophy Recipient?

July 16th, 2011 by Jeremiah Jackson Leave a reply »
In the National Hockey League, the Vezina Trophy is awarded every year to the goaltender who is "adjudged to be the best at this position."

Many great goalies in NHL history have been able to say they are recipients of this prestigious award.

Past legends like Terry Sawchuck, Jacques Plante and of course, Tony Esposito; modern legends such as Dominik Hasek, Martin Brodeur and Patrick Roy. All these great men can lay claim to the Vezina Trophy.

This upcoming season, Chicago Blackhawks goaltender Corey Crawford has a legitimate chance to join that elite club of Vezina winners.

Drafted in 2003 with the 52nd overall pick in the NHL Draft, Crawford had toiled in both the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League(QMJHL) and the American Hockey League(AHL) from 2003 to 2010, receiving only brief call-ups to the Blackhawks in between.

At the start of the 2010-2011 NHL season, Chicago was faced with the departure of Stanley Cup stalwart Antti Niemi to the San Jose Sharks, and fellow netminder Cristobal Huet being loaned out to hockey club HC Fribourg-Gotteron SA of the Swiss National League A as a means reli ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article written by


Comments are closed.