Washington Wizards: NBA All-Time Starting Fives

August 5th, 2010 by Emile Avanessian Leave a reply »
Who are these guys?


Talk about a franchise with an identity crisis. The NBA franchise now known as the Washington Wizards began play as the Chicago Packers in the 1961–62 season, before changing their name to the Chicago Zephyrs the following season, only to relocate to Baltimore the year after that and become the Baltimore Bullets.

After a decade as the Baltimore Bullets, the franchise elected to once again shake things up, moving to Landover Maryland as the Capital Bullets. For one season.

After the 1973-74 and one season under the new name, the Washington Bullets came to be. And after 24 seasons- long enough for everyone to forget the franchise’s last four names- the Bullets became the Wizards, as owner Abe Pollin wanted to distance the franchise form the name’s violent connotation, given high homicide and crime rates in Washington, D.C. at the time.

Despite the constant upheaval in nomenclature, this is a pretty accomplished franchise.

In 49 years of existence, eight Hall-of-Famers have suited up in at least 100 games for the franchise, four of whom (Walt Bellamy, Wes Unseld, Ea ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.