Was Kendrick Perkins Ejection and Suspension Deserved?

May 27th, 2010 by kevin roberts Leave a reply »
If you're a Boston fan, check your emotions at the door and look at the facts.

From a view over top, yes, the second technical and eventual ejection were an over reaction. A Game Six suspension ? Ditto.

However, these are the NBA rules. This is how it's done with every player and every team. Remember last year when Dwight Howard missed a playoff game due to suspension? It works both ways.

Still, if you're a Celtics fan, it's hard to grasp how this happened.

But before you just glance at the tape and engulf yourself in flames of ref hatred, take a look at it from the ref's perspective.


Technical One

Yes, at first glance, Kendrick Perkins merely reached down to help point guard Rajon Rondo up, and his arm slipped and elbowed Marcin Gortat in the stomach.

But was it really accidental? I'm sure Rondo's arm and Perkins' hand were both sweaty and possibly pretty slippery.

But when you look hard at the tape, it's hard to refute that it definitely appeared like Perkins put a little extra something into his "accidental" elbow.

Even if you don't buy that, an elbow is ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.