Spurs vs. Thunder: Why Game 6 Will Be the End of the NBA San Antonio Dynasty

June 5th, 2012 by Ben Axelrod Leave a reply »
In just over 24 hours from now, one of the NBA's greatest dynasties will come to a shocking—albeit delayed—end.

Over the course of the past 10 seasons, five franchises have won an NBA championship. Three of those titles belong to the San Antonio Spurs, and with the addition of the 1999 championship, Tim Duncan and Co. appeared poised to add a fifth banner to their rafters, but that was before they ran into Kevin Durant. As the Spurs head into Wednesday night's Game 6—facing elimination against a Thunder team that's won three consecutive games in the series—the sobering reality of the end of the Spurs dynasty is beginning to set in.

Make no mistake about it, the Thunder are going to win on Wednesday and advance to its first NBA Finals in its young franchise history. Not only are the Spurs confronting their worst fears of finally wearing down, but they're just no longer a match for the up-and-coming Thunder. Kendrick Perkins and Serge Ibaka have subdued Duncan, Thabo Sefolosha has slowed down Tony Parker, and Manu Ginobili hasn't been able to match the offensive output of Durant, Russell Westbrook, and James Harden.

Just a mere ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.