The NBA announced Monday that Toronto Raptors guard DeMar DeRozan fouled Indiana Pacers center Ian Mahinmi during the late stages of Toronto's 89-84 Game 7 win over Indiana on Sunday.
With 16.6 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter and the Pacers down 87-84, Paul George attempted an alley-oop to Mahinmi. DeRozan pushed Mahinmi, leaving him unable to catch George's pass, but the referees didn't call a foul on the Raptors star:
Unlike the blown call on James Harden's game-winner in the Houston Rockets' Game 3 victory over the Golden State Warriors on April 21, DeRozan's foul may not have had a direct impact on the outcome.
Even if the referees had blown the whistle, Mahinmi shot 58.7 percent from the free-throw line during the regular season and made 15 of his 25 attempts from the line in the playoffs. Had the Frenchman gone against the percentages and knocked down both free throws, the Pacers still would've been down by one point and needed to send the Raptors to the foul line.
And the same would've been true if DeRozan had not intervened and Mahinmi completed the dunk.
Of co ...
Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by Joseph Zucker
NBA Rules DeMar DeRozan Fouled Ian Mahinmi at End of Pacers vs. Raptors
May 2nd, 2016 by Joseph Zucker Leave a reply »
Advertisement