Hawks HC Mike Budenholzer Fined for Making Contact with Referee vs. Cavaliers

November 23rd, 2015 by Matt Fitzgerald Leave a reply »

Atlanta Hawks head coach Mike Budenholzer was fined $25,000 Monday for making contact with a referee during this past Saturday's 109-97 loss to the Cleveland Cavaliers at Quicken Loans Arena.

Jeff Zillgitt of USA Today reported the news, as Budenholzer appeared to lightly bump the referee, was assessed a second technical foul for doing so after previously arguing a call and was ejected in the second quarter.   

Budenholzer explained afterward he wasn't even sure there was contact prior to his ejection, per the Atlanta Journal-Constitution's Chris Vivlamore:

I didn't get a lot (of explanation on ejection) really. At the moment I tried to get more. I don't know. He threw me out. That's his prerogative. So, I'm sure we will learn more going forward.

I was very close to him. That seems like that could be the reason why he threw me out after just a single technical. If there was any contact it would be totally unintentional. If there is contact, I'm sure that's why he made the judgment call that he did.

After the announcement of the fine, National Basketball Referees Associa ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.