2010 NBA Preview: Who Will Take the Rookie of the Year Award

September 23rd, 2010 by Pedro Gonzalez Leave a reply »

The Rookie of the Year in the NBA is a very prestigious award; legends like, Wilt Chamberlain, Michael Jordan, Larry Bird, and Tim Duncan --just to name a few-- have all won the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy.

The front-runners for this year's award are point guard John Wall and power forward Blake Griffin. But other top picks, such as Evan Turner and Paul George could make a great impact on their teams and their ROY chances.

Paul George and Xavier Henry won’t have a lot of minutes so their chances seem slim,  while DeMarcus Cousins chances are even slimmer. The last center to win the award was Emeka Okafor in ’04 and the last true C was Shaquille O’Neal in ’92, and Cousins is a work in process.

Four out of the last five ROY winners have been guards. All of them played more than 35 minutes in their rookie season, and they’ve all averaged at least 16 points per game. That gives the advantage to Wall; aside from being a PG, he’s going to be the starter for the Washington Wizards and he has the explosiveness to score 20 PPG.

Blake Griffin is technically in hi ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.