2010 NBA Preview: The Eminent Los Angeles Lakers

October 2nd, 2010 by Hardcourt Mayhem Leave a reply »
The Los Angeles Lakers just made their third straight NBA Finals appearance. Such a thing happened ten other times in the 64 years of NBA history: 1950-53 New York Knicks, 1951-54 Minneapolis Lakers, 1957-66 Boston Celtics, 1967-70 Los Angeles Lakers, 1981-85 Los Angeles Lakers, 1986-89 Los Angeles Lakers, 1987-90 Detroit Pistons, 1990-93 Chicago Bulls, 1995-98 Chicago Bulls, and 1999-02 Los Angeles Lakers.

The Lakers will enter the 2010-2011 season with an opportunity for a three-peat, the third in franchise history. Winning three straight titles is more difficult than people think; not every dynasty has done it. This has happened only five times in the league’s history; 1952-1954 Minneapolis Lakers, 1959-1966 Boston Celtics, 1991-1993 Chicago Bulls, 1996-1998 Chicago Bulls, 2000-2002 Los Angeles Lakers.

More impressive than the current Lakers having an opportunity to join that select group is Phil Jackson with an opportunity to set the fourth three-peat of his career. Actually, every title Jackson has ever won has been in a consecutive manner. This upcoming season has been reported as Jackson’s last before retirement.

Shooting for h ...

Read Full Article at Bleacher Report - NBA
Article written by


Comments are closed.